Requirements for Continuing Education
When are New Jersey Real Estate Licenses Renewed?
Every odd-numbered year, New Jersey real estate agents must renew their licenses with the Real Estate Commission. Licenses are issued based on a 2-year license term. Renewal notices are sent to your broker’s office.
What are the requirements to renew your license?
Real estate salespersons, broker-salespersons and brokers are required to complete 12 hours of CE per license term in order to renew their license for the next license term. See N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.3(a). At least six of the 12 hours must be in the following core topics. See N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.4(a)1-8 and 11:5-12.4(c):
In order to qualify for license renewal or reinstatement, every individual renewing their license as a broker of record, broker-salesperson, or salesperson must satisfy at least ONE of the CE requirements (those renewing as referral agents do not need CE outlined here.
- Completion of 12 credit hours of CE applicable to the license term (N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.4 (2012)). At least six of the twelve credits must be obtained in courses within the “core topics”. The six shall include at least 2 credit hours on ethics and at least 1 credit in Fair Housing & New Jersey Law Against Discrimination. The remaining 6 credits can be electives or core.
- Successful completion of one or more broker pre-licensure education courses (within the license term) as set forth in N.J.A.C. 11:5-2.1, shall fulfill CE requirements for renewal.
– Salespersons initially licensed in the FIRST year of the NJ real estate license term ARE REQUIRED to complete CE requirements in order to renew their license for the next term (i.e., a licensee who obtained their license before July 1, 2022 will be required to complete CE requirements in order to renew their license by the June 30, 2023 deadline for the term beginning July 1, 2021).
– Salespersons initially licensed in the SECOND year of the NJ real estate license term shall not be required to fulfill any continuing education to renew their license upon the conclusion of that license term. (i.e., a licensee who obtained their license after July 1, 2022 will not be required to complete CE requirements in order to renew their license by the June 30, 2023 deadline for the term beginning July 1, 2021).
How long do you have to complete the 12 credit hours?
– All 12 credit hours for the biennial timeframe must be completed before the CE Deadline usually the end of April. Failure to comply will result in a mandatory $200 late CE processing fee.
– It will take approximately 10 business days for the confirmation of your completed continuing education to be transferred from your CE Provider to the testing vendor to the Real Estate Commission.
What topics can I take?
There are specific requirements regarding which type of courses you must take.
At least 6 of the 12 credits must be obtained in courses within the “Core topics.” Of the 6 credits, 2 credit hours must include an ethics course and at least 1 credit in Fair Housing and New Jersey Law Against Discrimination. That leaves 3 credits you can chose which topics to take from these types:
- Legal Issues (i.e. listing agreements, contracts, leases, attorney review)
- Ethics (2 Ethics credits mandatory)
- Fair Housing and New Jersey Law Against Discrimination (NJLAD)
(1 Fair Housing & NJLAD credit mandatory)
- New Jersey Real Estate Broker and Salesperson Statues and Regulations
- State and Federal Environmental Laws/Regulations Pertaining to Real Estate
- Legal Requirements regarding Escrow Monies and Financial Recordkeeping
- Real Estate Licensee Safety
- Real Estate Financial Literacy and Planning
You have 6 credits you can choose from elective topics. The following are approved as topics for elective courses. See N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.13(a)1-9.
- Commercial Real Estate
- Property Management
- Seasonal Rentals
- Real Estate Sales Full Disclosure Act and Real Estate Timeshare Act
- Land Use
- Real Estate Valuation
- Foreclosure and Short-Sale Transactions
- Specific Aspects of Residential Real Estate Transactions
For further information on continuing education requirements, refer to the State of New Jersey Real Estate Commission website.